A new beginning.

Uncategorized

Three years ago, at age 22, after hating running for my entire life, I became a runner. Encouraged by roommates who were training for a half marathon, I started 2008 with the singular goal of being able to run a 3.1 mile race without stopping to walk – not an easy feat, considering that I was sedentary. After three months of training, I finished my first 5K in 40:45. If you had asked me then if I ever thought I’d be training for a marathon while in graduate school, I would probably have laughed at both the thought that I’d be in graduate school – since I was planning on applying to law school – and that I would even think about undertaking marathon training.

Last week, I turned 25, and reality, it seems, stands closer to the unimaginable. I’m currently in the second year of my master’s degree in English, and if all goes to plan, I’ll be moving into a Ph.D program in the fall. In terms of running, I have completed a number of shorter races at various distances: 5K, 10K, 10 miles, 10.4 miles, 13.1 miles. I’m not fast, by any measure, but my times have improved since I began. I also ran my first trail race on December 4th, 2010.

It’s time, I’ve decided, to take the next step: a marathon.

I’m fuzzy on exact details as of yet: I’m not even sure which race I’ll be training for, since there are so many choices. I think that part of the fun of planning for any race is actually selecting one, if anyone actually reads this, they’ll see me go through that process. For now, I only have two races planned for the new year, with a few tentative dates in mind. Here’s my tentative schedule:

January – No race planned (looking for one though!)
February 14 – Run with your Heart for CFC
March – No race planned, possibly the St. Malachi Run – 5 miles (March 12) or a half marathon
April 17 – Forget the PR, Mochican 25K
May – No race planned, possibly the 100 Miles of Nowhere Virtual race through Fat Cyclist or the Columbus Capital City Half
June 4/5 – Warrior Dash Ohio – 2.91 miles

Leave a Reply

