First run back (wherein I whine about not training)

Uncategorized

Unfortunately, I did not wind up tracking down a treadmill or indoor track while in the land of Sarah Palin last week. Anywho, most gyms were closed, because it was a holiday week, and my family had only rented one car, which I was not allowed to drive (for nine of us, if you can believe it. We managed to function with it for about half the trip, until we decided to swap it out for a larger SUV on the day before my cousin’s wedding). We did, however, track down reindeer and ice sculptures galore! I also managed to read four books on the plane rides and our downtime (Moby Dick and the first three books of the Temeraire series by Naomi Novik) and started a fifth (Middlemarch). As result, the only exercise I got last week was tearing up the dance floor at the wedding.

Bad idea, especially when I went back on my first run last night.

I planned for a three miler: quick and painful, like ripping off a bandaid. I was absolutely right about the painful part.

Actually, I may be exaggerating just a bit. I definitely felt how my cadio had declined, but my legs felt okay, if a bit more easily fatigued than usual. My pace wasn’t terrible (for me) either. My Nike+ tells me I maintained a 10:29 mile, even with a few walk breaks. I did some yoga afterward to work out some of the kinks in my legs after I got home and refueled (almond milk is my new favorite recovery drink. So delicious!). Thinking about it, I’ve definitely had worse “return runs”: I’m specifically remembering my runs after the holidays last year after my grandmother died (talk about a combination of emotional and physical misery. There were some weepy and agonizing runs, let me tell you). Despite any frustration I have at the two week setback, therefore, I’m not terribly worried about jumping back into a training plan in the next week or so. I’m super happy to see that I’ve gained some overall fitness, even if I’ve slacked off a bit for the past few weeks. Here’s hoping I can get my base built back up before racing season kicks off again.

Side note:
– I’m considering training for the Capital City Half Marathon in Columbus, OH on May 7. This race will follow pretty hot on the heels of the Forget the PR Mohican 25K (which is actually 17 miles), so I’d probably wind up using a training program for a full marathon and taking the Mohican as either my longest or second longest runs. I’m thinking of possibly using the Hal Higdon Novice 1, although I may bump it up to Novice 2 if I’m feeling confident after the first few weeks of the program.

Leave a Reply

