One more time with feeling.

Uncategorized

I’ve decided to make an unofficial (sort of official?) return to blogging. I’ve always blogged in fits and starts, but I’m starting my last year of my doctorate,* and I’m returning to marathoning after two years of shorter distances; I can’t believe that Bayshore was two years ago! I needed to really focus on the dissertation, and now that I’m nearing a full draft of the dissertation, I feel more comfortable getting serious with my training again. I’ve been working out a lot, but my mileage overall has been way down. I haven’t decided on which marathon yet, but I’m eyeing some possibilities for the spring – possibly Buffalo or Toledo, but I’d prefer a trail race.** Some big changes will be coming in the next year, and I see the creation of a more public record as an important step in capping off this stage of my life and transitioning into my next phase.

That said, I want to commit myself to a weekly post, which, at the very least, will give a brief summary of my workouts. Mondays are good for posting because I’ll run long on Sundays,  and it’s usually a training off-day for me.

So, here we go.

Monday

Rest day.

I’d hit a different yoga class than usual the previous day, so my body was not happy with me. At all. According to my Fitbit, I didn’t even hit my step goals for the day, which I’ll chalk up to working at home on a chapter revision for most of the day and only emerging for a cup of coffee in the afternoon.

Tuesday

Zumba – 1 hour

Finally, finally managed to drag my carcass out of bed for the 7:30 class again, after three weeks of being too poorly rested to go. Got up a little too late to do a proper warm-up but was satisfied by the fact that I managed to get my workout done in the morning, rather than waiting until the 4:30 class.

Wednesday

Run (warm-up) – .5 miles at 5.0 mph pace

Zumba – 1 hour

Was supposed to do a full mile warm-up, but got very wrapped up in making progress on my chapter, so only managed to squeeze in a .5 warm-up before getting into class. The teacher has been using a lot of Shakira lately, and I’m loving it.

Thursday

Run – 2 miles at 5.0 average pace

Body weight circuit x 2

I did this run on the treadmill, because I wanted to go and buy new shoes before going to campus. I’d been having some serious pain in my feet from my Mizuno Waverider 17s. I never have pain in my feet, so I’ve been pretty anxious to get into some different shoes. I went over to Cleveland Running Company, and tried out some new kicks. The guy in the store took a look at my Mizunos, and the look on his face was pretty telling. The 17s were shot, even though the soles weren’t worn enough to merit replacing. He put me in the Brooks Ghost 8s, and I loved them. They have more padding than I’m used to (the Waveriders and the Kinvaras that I’d been wearing before them are lighter shoes), but my feet don’t complain anymore, so it’s a win all around.

For the body weight circuit, I increased the reps on the beginner body weight workout from NerdFitness. I did two sets of:

  • 30 body weight squats
  • 10 push ups
  • 20 walking lunges
  • 10 dumbbell rows (w/8 lb dumbbell)
  • 30 second plank
  • 30 Jumping Jacks

Friday

Run – 3.5 miles

Nice easy evening run. Nothing to report, really.

Saturday

Zumba – 1 hour

Body weight circuit x 2

Zumba was amazing – he really pushed us with some of the more difficult songs, although I need to get used to the heavier/bulkier shoes. I nearly fell over during one song when my newly gigantic shoes tangled in one another. The class was pretty small at the beginning but filled up as time went on, to the point where we fogged up the mirrors in the studio, which is pretty unusual for that class.

Body weight circuit:

  • 30 body weight squats
  • 10 push ups
  • 20 walking lunges
  • 10 dumbbell rows (w/10 lb dumbbell)
  • 30 second plank
  • 30 Jumping Jacks

Sunday

Power Yoga – 1 hr, 15 mins

Run – 4 miles

The yoga session was very focused on Crescent lunge, which is not my favorite pose, thanks to all of the foot issues I’ve been having lately. I know it’s good to focus on that pose specifically, but it’s such a pain when you’re in it! The foot issues cropped up a bit more when we transitioned to a Warrior 3/Half moon/standing split sequence, especially on my right foot. Beyond that, I’ve been working on my Crow pose, which seems to be progressing, and my ability to “shoot back” from the halfway lift to Chaduranga Dandasana without sounding like I’m stomping on something.

The run was pretty uneventful, overall. I took the hilly route I’ve been favoring lately, and it feels encouraging that I’m walking a lot less on those hills than I used to!

Monday

Rest day

Still sore from yesterday’s yoga – mostly in the shoulders. I think my shoulder flexibility has improved significantly in the past few months, but we must have done more yesterday than usual.

Total miles: 12

Total cross-training days: 3

*OMG, right?! I

**I’m waiting until after my dissertation defense in Feb/March. Which, again, OMG.

Leave a Reply

