Off-balance.

Uncategorized

Tuesday

Zumba – 1 hour

A good class, but I felt a little off-balance (literally – I had trouble on some of the more challenging lunges), due to a lack of sleep the night before. Still breaking in the new shoes too, so I’m sure that also had something to do with it. I was feeling pretty burnt out generally, so I took the rest of the day for rest and a little decompressing.

Wednesday

Run – .5 miles (warm-up to the gym)

Zumba – 1 hour

Instructor pushed us hard in class, which I’m normally on board with. I’d spent the day at a baseball game with my family and regretted the burger I had afterward, since I started feeling nauseated about halfway in. Pushed through, but I need to be more cautious about pre-workout meals, apparently.

Thursday

Run – 2.5 miles @ avg. 5.0 mph pace (pushed speed increases from 4.7 – 5.5 every .1 mi or so)

Body weight circuit – 2x

  • 30 body weight squats
  • 10 push ups
  • 20 walking lunges
  • 10 dumbbell rows (w/10 lb dumbbell)
  • 30 second plank
  • 30 Jumping Jacks

Felt good overall during this workout. I slept a lot the night before (at least nine hours), so felt a whole lot better than the previous two days. A little queasy afterward, so I’m going to pay closer attention to nutrition, since I suspect the diet (not enough protein?) is what threw my stomach off after this workout and the one on Wednesday.

Friday

Run – 2 miles

This run was supposed to be longer but was feeling tired after a day of working on articles.

Saturday

Run – 1 mile

Zumba – 1 hour

Body weight circuit – 2x

  • 30 body weight squats
  • 10 push ups
  • 20 walking lunges
  • 10 dumbbell rows (w/10 lb dumbbell)
  • 30 second plank
  • 30 Jumping Jacks

Felt strong through this workout overall, although ravenous afterward.

Sunday

Rest day

Clearly pushed too hard the previous day, since I was wiped out. Decided to take an extra day off and felt better for it. Missed the yoga, but needed the extra race.

Monday

Rest day

Thoughts

Overall, alongside continuing to pay attention to nutrition, I think one of my major goals over the next few weeks is to make sure that I’m not missing sleep, especially with the amount of travel I’m going to be doing this month. That’s where a lot of the lack of energy for working out and some of the burnout from academic work are coming from.

Total miles: 6

Total days of cross-training: 3

Leave a Reply

